OperaClamor ...(Join us at http://www.facebook.com/groups/366871503382109/ )

OperaClamor ...(Join us at http://www.facebook.com/groups/366871503382109/ )
MUSICA DE LOS OCHENTA: de 1680, 1780, 1880 y 1980 :-) Las mejores grabaciones de Opera, Musica clásica, Pop EuroDance, Carátulas Customizadas y más.

martes, 10 de enero de 2012

MASSENET: Marie-Magdeleine

Mary Magdalene by Anthony Frederick Augustus Sandys (c. 1860)

MASSENET: Marie-Magdeleine

Este es un Oratorio, estrictamente hablando, aunque en muchos aspectos se parece a una opera con 4 personajes y el coro. Fue el primer gran éxito de Massenet, que se especializaria después en retratar personajes femeninos. Una ópera llena de pathos y sensualidad.

Marie-Magdeleine is an oratorio (Drame Sacré) in three acts and four parts by Jules Massenet to a French libretto by Louis Gallet, based on La vie de Jésus (1863) by Ernest Renan. It was first performed at the Théâtre de l'Odéon in Paris on April 11, 1873. The first staged performance took place in Nice on February 9, 1903. It was Massenet's first success and won him the praise of Tchaikovsky, Gounod and Bizet.

The story concerns the last days of Jesus from the perspective of Mary Magdalene. The subject initially caused some controversy, as some believed that physical love was implied between Jesus and Mary Magdalene. From today's perspective those implications are difficult to detect. While it contains some beautiful music and has been revived for certain singers, notably Régine Crespin, the work has not endured and is rarely performed.


Jésus: Jaromír Achatzi
Judas: Richard Haan
Marthe: Pavlina Kambourova
Méryem: Valentina Tschavdarova
Czech Philharmonic Chorus of Brno, Brno Philharmonic Orchestra, Leoš Svárovský (cond.)
Brno, 1994

Music composed by Jules Massenet. Libretto by Louis Gallet based on La vie de Jésus (1863) by Ernest Renan.

First performance: 11 April 1873, Théâtre de l'Odéon, Paris (concert performance).

Principal Characters:
Marie-Magdeleine (Méryem)Mezzo-Soprano

Here is the Link to Streaming Audio:

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario